A Long Goodbye

For you, whom I love,
a long goodbye.

I bless your feet for kicking
the crab apples in the orchard
of my heart –
for cracking their round
and sour –
their too soon –
their not-ripe,
not yet.

And maybe I meant it,
at the moment of the lie
when I told you I was leaving;
when I walked away,
turning the lights off, one by one,
like stars burning out.
Maybe I asked you to hold me too hard
and you didn’t know what to say
when my soft oozed sick
like gore between your fingers;
the sticky rot of it;
the bitter tang.
Maybe I just wanted you to miss me.

For you, whom I love,
a long goodbye – this could take years.
Please, keep kissing me.

Leave a Reply

