Albatross

Let them call you albatross when they leave.
I let him call me albatross.
I’m sure he never knew the bird itself only bode good luck.
So if my crime was following his ship and blessing it
then albatross I am.
A woman with more wing than arm
who meant no harm and only wanted to see him home safe.
I’m sorry.
When someone shoots you with an arrow,
do not be sorry.
Do not hate your weight around their neck.
You, albatross, circling their sharp blue sky,
were no more curse than I.
We did not ask for them to kill us.

Leave a Reply

