Fading Song

I remember April as an open window;
as the light trapped inside a diamond;
as the softening mud under my shoes.
I remember it with eyes that are younger than my own –
myself as a girl with the word belief perched between her teeth
and ready to spill.
April, always, like a kiss I knew would bruise
but didn’t mind, so long as I could get closer.
How can so much time have passed since then?
I’ll never understand it.
I wake up still from dreams of it that fade as fast
as lilacs bloom, and leaves its plumes
of such subtle sweetness.

2 comments
  1. This is amazing. Very lucid and dream-like. Love the ending, so darn good ^^

  2. I actually just wrote something about spring and how it was before and dreaming. Not quite as good as yours though lol

Leave a Reply

