In The House Of The Heart

You cannot ask for promises in the house of the Heart. Your body is strong, but breakable, and there’s nothing to be done. No way to say Love that exempts you from risk. It took me a long time to learn that if I wanted to move my mouth in time with his, I had to know the possibility of teeth and tongue pushing out Goodbye. I am no different – all of my words – all of my mistakes. How much hate I had in my bones for those who decided my Love was no longer Home. How I carried it alone. There are no promises in the house of the Heart. I have learned enough not to ask for them, to lay my body down at the altar of worship and not be afraid. I am strong, and breakable, and there is nothing to be done.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

