Devour

“I need you to catch the foxes in my dreams. They keep me up at night, their red tails flickering like candlelight. I’m so afraid they’ll burn to touch, but you were good at burning. Woke up every morning in a pile of ash laughing; called yourself a phoenix. You see, I need the dark, but you could always fall asleep anywhere, so long as it was quiet – and the foxes don’t make much sound – they just prowl around. I’ll let you keep them. Didn’t you always tell me you got so lonely at night? I’m sure they don’t bite. I just don’t like the way they look at me, but maybe you will – like they would kill just to make you stay – and you can’t choose… not if you’re gonna beg – and I’m begging you, please, take the foxes away.”

Leave a Reply

