Space Cadet

I think about stars a lot; their light, their glimmer.

When I’m alone though, I consider the distance too much. Make myself dizzy. Cannot keep my face turned up for too long before my head swims. I think about the planets, the nebulas, and all that space —  the weight of it crushes me with anxiety.

But then you come home and hold me. When I press my face into your shoulder I can smell the wind on your hair, and there is nothing else. You obliterate whole words like: Hypernova, galaxy, and lonely. You kiss my face, my neck, my hands– leave nothing but the light and the glimmer.

Leave nothing but the beautiful.

2 comments
  1. Really cool post! To the point, and many things I like about it. Refreshing to a space-lover, as well as a love-lover! The ending ties it together in a nice way, really putting emphasis on the ‘light and glimmer.’
    Nice!

    • Oh wow, isn’t this the sweetest? I love a lot of things about space, but then a lot of things about space absolutely scare the crap out of me. I guess it’s like most good things in life that way, haha.

Leave a Reply

